And the Award Goes To…

29 04 2010

Well, the party’s over.  Nothing left but a wine stain on the rug by the stairway, a half-eaten piece of cake on the coffee table, a pile of dishes in the sink, and a pair of glasses someone left in the bathroom.

No, no, no!  There wasn’t actually a party yesterday.  It just felt like one because….

I made it onto the Freshly Pressed page of featured blogs!

I found out about my selection for this, the highest of honors, when I got a rash of emails announcing comments to my blog and THEY WEREN”T ALL FROM MY MOTHER!

When I realized what was afoot I reread my post and immediately found four places I wanted to change the wording.  Even worse, I found (YIKES) a typo!

Suddenly I faced a dilemma.  Could I morally edit something that had already been selected?  Was that like making changes to a test paper after it had been graded?

Maybe the software wouldn’t even let me make changes.  Maybe I would bring WordPress.com to a grinding halt if I even tried to make changes.

But the typo was glaring at me.  I felt like I was at a beauty pageant with a coffee stain on the front of my white evening gown.

Ultimately, I decided to correct the typo but leave the rest as it was.

(WordPress.com did not come crashing down.  It didn’t even hiccup.)

The most excitement came as the day wore on and my blog stats reached heretofore unimagined heights.  The graph is usually a zig-zaggy line with lots of ups and downs.  Increasingly, it was a straight horizontal line located just barely above zero punctuated by a single point on the far right, soaring higher and HIGHER and HIGHER!

I was invincible!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Alas, the morning after is always sort of a let down.  Once again, I’m just one of 286,963 people rattling on about the minutiae of my life.  Back to the real world.

But, to paraphrase Lerner and Loewe in one of their great Broadway productions:

Don’t let it be forgot
That once this was a spot
For one brief shining moment that was known
As Camelot one of the 11 best blog posts out of a pool of 324,839.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 05 2010
merrilymarylee

Congratulations on the Fresh Press selection! It does have you walking on air for a day, doesn’t it?!

I am amazed at how often mistakes glare at me like a blue light special once I hit that Publish button. I always change them when I see them. There’s an eagle-eyed retired Latin teacher who reads it. 🙂

4 05 2010
Brainscatter

Minutiae are the best bits of life. Please rattle on 🙂

I’m glad I found your blog the other day (yep, thanks to Freshly Pressed).

Leave a Reply

