Pondering My Prescriptions

13 01 2010

I recently visited the doctor and was tasked to list current medications.  It was not so long ago that I returned those sheets empty.  I may have even felt a little smug about my good health.  A sense that if you’re in tune with your body, and respectful of how you treat it, it won’t let you down.

The pendulum has swung.  My eyes have been opened.

Now my list includes:

Copaxone – daily injection for multiple sclerosis

Albuterol – that darn asthma!

Vitamin D and calcium – the neurologist insists on it due to a rather cloudy relationship it shares with multiple sclerosis; the ob-gyn is concerned about osteoporosis

So those things have been on THE LIST several years.  Recent additions:

Benadryl – I have developed a raging rash that comes and goes marked by widespread redness, large lumps and significant itching.  One doctor thought it might be my laundry detergent, another thought dry skin.  I’m pretty sure they’re both wrong.  The Benadryl works like a charm when the rash kicks into high gear.  At first I was taking it almost every day.  Now I’m down to two or three times a week.  I hope the condition will  just taper off and I’ll never have to figure it out.

Azithromycin – Antibiotic for lung congestion that started just before Christmas.  At first I was sure it would clear up on its own.  Last weekend I threw in the towel and got this prescription.  So now the medicine is gone but the congestion isn’t.

Cough, cough.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

