One Book at a Time

31 12 2009

In an earlier post I mentioned my addiction to very cheap or free books.  I explained how I came into possession of 68 books that were suddenly crowding my already full bookshelves.  Since that time, I’ve been trying to peruse my bounty and re-donate what I consider the riffraff.  I’m making progress.

To date I have read the following:

  • Marley & Me – I actually already have a copy.
  • Is It Hot In Here or Is It Me? – A book about menopause, funny but very out of date.
  • Life Lessons for  Women – From the creators of the Chicken Soup series – thoughtful, not life changing.
  • Finding Your Best Place to Live in America – Well, I’m ready to think about retirement, anyway.  Shows some of the right questions to ask, but better to go online and get more up to date info.
  • Christmas with Southern Living 1982 , also 1986 and 1987 – Were we really impressed by these decorating ideas?
  • Four of those paperback cookbooks you get in the checkout line at the grocery store: Family Dinners, Fast and Healthy, Lite Delight and Pasta, Bread & Pizza Snacks
  • Cannery Row – Great book!  I thought it would be typical Steinbeck (depressing) but it kept me smiling in my head the whole way through. Reminded me of our trip to Monterey when we saw where the book was set.  This one’s a keeper!
  • An Altogether New Book of Top Ten Lists (from Late Night With Letterman) – Slightly entertaining, once through is enough.
  • Multiple Sclerosis – I couldn’t find a single mention of Avonex, Betaseron, Copaxone, or Rebif.  Then checked the date and realized it was published in 1992.  Made me think about how living with MS just 17 years ago would have been very different from today.
  • Bitsy’s Bait & BBQ – Fun read, just fluff.
  • Creating a Beautiful Home by Alexandra Stoddard – Hated it.  The woman is so in love with her own home she mostly told me to make my house an exact replica of it.  Down to the paint colors.  “Paint the ceiling flat Atmosphere Blue.  Use full-color O’Brien 1-0-47.”  As if that weren’t bad enough, aside from a few penciled sketches, there were no pictures of aforementioned house.
  • The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson – An oldie and a goodie!  Reminds me of a few Christmas pageants I’ve suffered through.  I can’t figure why they haven’t made a TV Christmas special based on it.  (Too much Nativity for prime time?)
  • Five of Erma Bombeck’s books: Motherhood: The Second Oldest Profession, If Life Is a Bowl of Cherries – What Am I Doing in the Pits? , The Grass is Always Greener Over the Septic Tank, Aunt Erma’s Cope Book, and I Lost Everything in the Post Natal Depression – My mom loved her column in the newspaper growing up.  Me too.  It makes me wonder what she would have written in this age of cell phones and iPods and GPS.  A little poignant since she died of cancer.
  • Making Vintage Aircraft in Wood – Brought this one home for my husband.  He needs a hobby.  I don’t think this is it, though he enjoyed leafing through it.

So I’m keeping Cannery Row, Christmas Pageant, and all the Bombeck.  The rest goes back in the freebie bin.  I’m making progress.  Now, on to The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver.

Actions

Information

One response

6 01 2010
brook

This is truly inspiring. Barbara Kingsolver will be presenting writers’ workshops at the San Miguel Writers Conference in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico February 19-23. I just signed up. It looks like a rare opportunity to meet her. Are you going?

Leave a Reply

