One Ring-ey Ding-ey…

3 11 2009

Finally, it’s election day.  The Virginia state elections have made me crazy.  When the Republican Winnebago dumped a bunch of college students in my neighborhood last weekend I was sorely tempted to tell them that I was keeping a tally and awarding my vote to whoever had fewer points:

1 point: mail or television solicitationsigns

2 points: personal phone solicitation

3 points: harassment at my door

4 points: automated phone solicitation

50 points: to the idiots who posted signs on the highway median that block my ability to see when I’m trying to make a left hand turn.

But my Mom raised me right and I maintained my decorum.

Both my husband and I have had the flu for the last day or two (had my regular flu shot over a month ago, no sign of H1N1 vaccine being available to me any time soon), so our house has become quite the train wreck.  When all the inhabitants of any given domicile are sick, maintaining a strict code of cleanliness seems to fall by the wayside. And at that point, what difference does it make?

Hubby has taken sick leave for the past two days, and his presence in the house during this intense political period has been a bit revealing with regard to our compatibility.  I speak of the telephone.

telephoneWe don’t have caller ID, so every time the phone rings it’s a surprise.  With the campaign calls coming in fast and furious, he decided that it would be better to just not answer the phone.  If someone really needed to talk to us, they could leave a message.

While I can agree with this in principle, the reality is that every time someone calls and doesn’t leave a message, I am tempted to ring up all my friends and relatives to make sure everyone is alright.  The whole thing has me quite on edge.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 11 2009
Mary Lee

Hate that you both have the flu…..with all its misery. Wish I were there to rub backs, heat up the chicken soup, or just commiserate with you. Sure hope it won’t last too much longer. Love ya’

4 11 2009
Elaine Scotton

I am enjoying your blog. My husband has MS and we also live with the struggles this disease brings. We recently started a blog. We are very new to it, but we are having a lot of fun. If you would like to check it out, the address is http://healthyhappyandenabled.blogspot.com/.
Take care – the flu can be awful.
Regards, Elaine Scotton

Leave a Reply

