Bubble, Bubble, Toil and Trouble

7 10 2009

soup(The Shakespearean quote actually reads “Double double toil and trouble.  Fires burn and cauldrons bubble.” )

The onset of cooler weather means it’s time for…SOUP!!!  Hooray!  I love to make a big pot loaded with carrots, peas, corn and barley and pull it out when I need a quick meal.  The longer it sits in the fridge, the better it tastes.  (Within reason, of course!)

When you put a big pot of soup on the stove and turn on the heat, it will start to boil.  But if, when the first bubbles appear, you stir it up, the soup is quiet again for a while.  You can repeat this a number of times until finally all the soup in the pot is at the boiling point and no amount of stirring will quell the rumbling.

That phenomenon  reminds me of the stiffness I get in my legs.  When I stand up after having sat for a while, I feel like the Tin Man.  But I move around a bit and things ease up and I’m good to go.  But then I sit again and the stiffness comes back, till I move some more.  Will there come a time when no amount of movement will loosen my legs?

Actions

Information

One response

9 10 2009
Mary Lee

Hopefully that won’t happen until you’re your mom’s age and then it’ll be par for the course!!

…but speaking of your soup, it was always so delicious! Nothing quite like homemade soup to warm the heart.

Leave a Reply

